Geographic of Mauritius


Together with Réunion, the islands of Mauritius and Rodrigues belong to the Mascarenes.


The island of Mauritius is located in the Indian Ocean, about 1800 km east of the African continent.

Neighbouring States

The island of Réunion, which is part of France, is about 200 km away from the west coast. To the north, the Seychelles is about 1,750 kilometres away. India is about 4,000 kilometres northeast.

Islands belonging to the group

Main island, Mauritius: The State of Mauritius consists of two large islands and several smaller islands. The capital is in Mauritius, the largest island of the group.

Small islands near Mauritius: Large parts of the main island are surrounded by a reef, out of which some other small islands like Ile Ambre Island rise. In the immediate vicinity of Mauritius are Gunner's Coin (Coin de Mire), 8 km off the north coast and Round Island, 22 km northeast.

Rodrigues: second in size is the island of Rodrigues with around 40,000 inhabitants. It is located about 600 km east at approximately the same geographical latitude as the main island.

Cardagos-Carajos Islands: The Cargados-Carajos Islands (also known as St. Brandon) are located about 500 km northeast of Mauritius. This group of islands lie over a stretch of about 100 km from north to south.

Agalega Islands: The islands of Agalega lie over 1,000 km north of Mauritius and are in a beeline of 650 km much nearer to the Seychelles.